CONHEÇA O TRABALHO 3D DE MARCELLO BALDARI

Saiu mais um post compartilhado, da grande revista americana 3D World, que fala sobre o artista 3D Marcello Baldari. Ele faz muitos trabalhos para indústrias de videogame. Mas, agora, fica a cargo da revista. Divirtam-se:

3D World: When did you first discover your talent and decide to become a 3D artist?
Marcello Baldari: I’ve always been keen on videogames and model collecting. I used to love painting and drawing when I was a child but I couldn’t figure out what my future would be.

One day I read about using Blender for videogames on a computer magazine cover and from then on I started gathering information and I downloaded Blender to follow the traditional tutorial of creating a cup that I think everyone did at the very beginning! I was fascinated by that world and I knew I’d finally found my way in life.

3D World: Do you remember what your first piece of CG was?
MB: Yep – a ‘horrible’ tea cup with Blender!

3D World: Where do you find inspiration?
MB: I find inspiration from everything around me, but in particular from books, artbook, films and documentaries.

3D World: Who or what has influenced your work?
MB: Studying other artists’ work is a great help for many artists: their art can help you to define your own. Even as a 3D artist, I love concept art and it is actually influences my work a lot. I’ve been following artists such as Kekai Kotaki, Daniel Dociu and Richard Anderson.

3D World: Do you think you have developed a certain style of work?
MB: I am inspired by other famous artists but having your own style and the right workflow is certainly of primary importance.

When I start a new project I don’t pay attention to any boundaries or the method I’m going to use but just try initally to get inspired by things around me. During the production, the schedule is important to me: I try to give myself tight deadline which keeps me disciplined and trained for when I get work from clients.

3D World: What is your favourite 3D software?
MB: ZBrush. When you find a way to work that you enjoy, it’s awesome!

3D World: What’s your favourite film?
MB: The Lord of the Rings…why? Orcs, orcs, orcs!

3D World: What’s your favourite animation?
MB: Every single year animation films are better in terms of both plots and techniques. Watching a Pixar production at the cinema is always a great experience for me, but How To Train Your Dragon has impressed me most because I love its character design.

3D World: Any words of advice for aspiring artists?
MB: I’m young to give advice, I would rather be receiving it from your readers!
I can just say that you really need to have a huge passion for what you decide to do in your life, otherwise you will never get the best results out of yourself.

▲ This image, Ink Warrior, was created with a technique that Marcello calls ‘Polysketch’, which is drawing with polygons

3D World: What software did you use to create Ink Warrior?
MB: To create the Ink Warrior I used ZBrush for sculpting and polypainting and Photoshop for the compositing.

3D World: How long did it take you to create the image?
MB: It took me about two to three days to create this image.

3D World: Did you use any unusual or notable techniques?
MB: The real challenge with the Ink Warrior was to try to mimic a style like concept art rather than traditional 3D illustrations. I wanted everything to look like a sketch, a ‘dirty’ dynamic line, but with everything in 3D.

But yes, I used a technique which I call polysketch because it is like drawing polygons. I used polypaint and composited in Photoshop.

3D World: What did you most enjoy about creating the image?
MB: As a modeller and character designer, the step I liked best was definitely the speed sculpting in ZBrush for characters.

3D World: What do you do for a living?
MB: I worked in Turin for an animation studio producing an animated film and two feature films.

Before that, I worked in Milan for several spots/commercial studio. Last year I followed a drawing, sculpting and anatomy course and now I am collaborating with some guys for a videogame.

My dream is to move from here, maybe abroad for something very interesting.

3D World: What experience do you have in 3D?
MB: I have been doing 3D for five years, mainly as a digital sculptor, modeller and texture artist, but my previous experiences include lighting, compositing and rendering.

For software I use ZBrush and Maya. I often use Maxwell Render, MARI and 3D Coat.

Another image created with Polysketch and inspired by Blood Bowl Orcs games.
I used ZBrush for sculpting, polypaint, textures and rendering; Photoshop for the compositing.

Piranha – pictured at the top of the page – is a cartoon-inspired character from the movie How To Train Your Dragon. I used ZBrush for sculpting, polypaint, textures and rendering; Photoshop for the compositing.

▲ Dreadnought

A character inspired by Warhammer. I used Maya for modelling and texturing, Maxwell for rendering, ZBrush to sculpt the skull and Photoshop for the compositing.

▲ Marcello chose the Food Chain as the title of this project because it expresses the evolutionary process, he says

The style that I used in Food Chain is based on cartoons. I paid attention to certain details that make them more photorealistic. I used ZBrush for sculpting and rendering, Photoshop for the compositing.

For more information about Marcello Baldari, please see his personal website: marcellobaldari.com

16 thoughts on “CONHEÇA O TRABALHO 3D DE MARCELLO BALDARI

  1. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author. I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and definitely will come back down the road. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

  2. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs
    I stumbleupon every day. It’s always interesting to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their sites.

  3. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

  4. This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to
    start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really
    loved what you had to say, and more than that,
    how you presented it. Too cool!

  5. Excellent article. Keep writing such kind of information on
    your blog. Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hi there, You have done a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and for my part recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this website.

Deixe uma Resposta

